The Selection By Kiera Cass

10507293

Any fans of The Bachelor out there? If so, you will find this read infinitely more interesting than the show. Prince Maxon is of the age where he needs to find himself a wife, and so the Selection–a competition where one girl from every region of the country is selected to live in the palace and attempt to win the prince’s affection–begins. America Singer finds herself one of the chosen, albeit unwillingly. She’ll have to decide between the boy from back home who/whom (whom sounds correct, but I don’t want to be wrong and sound presumptuous) she still loves, or her growing feelings for Maxon. America’s voice is undoubtedly humorous, and the conversations and interactions she has never fail to amuse me. And reading this, you can’t help but love Maxon (and be frustrated with Aspen, the boy from home). And there was something about reading this that brought me back to when I first read Divergent, some familiarity between this story and that one that I can’t quite put my finger on, but it’s there. Sorry for that incredibly vague statement (because I suck), but it’s a significant feeling to me that I can’t explain adequately (obviously). I only wish there had been a little more action, and for that reason I had to knock it down to a 4.77/5 stars 😉

Leave a Reply

