The Vow By Jessica Martinez

17170553

From Goodreads

No one has ever believed that Mo and Annie are just friends. How can a guy and a girl really be best friends?

Then the summer before senior year, Mo’s father loses his job, and by extension his work visa. Instantly, life for Annie and Mo crumbles. Although Mo has lived in America for most of his life, he’ll be forced to move to Jordan. The prospect of leaving his home is devastating, and returning to a world where he no longer belongs terrifies him.

Desperate to save him, Annie proposes they tell a colossal lie—that they are in love. Mo agrees because marrying Annie is the only way he can stay. Annie just wants to keep her best friend, but what happens when it becomes a choice between saving Mo and her own chance at real love?

My Thoughts

Okay, so I read the synopsis for The Vow on Pulseit and was REALLY excited to read it (you can actually read the entire novel now through the 27th for free!). As I was reading, I found it enthralling and altogether a compelling read–the relationships between the characters and the tragedies and the twists really hooked me. But as the story went on, I realized that what I hoped would happen was not actually how it was going to end. Sometimes I will initially find myself disappointed in a book as a whole, when really it just didn’t end how I necessarily expected it to, even though the book itself was truly well-written (a trait I’m desperately working to remedy, trust me). I’m all for pleasant surprises, but this seemed like an abrupt and unfair ending to the book. But then the more I look at it, maybe that was part of the point of the ending–throughout the book I kept coming across the theme that life isn’t fair, and that you can’t always live for everyone else–you matter. So yes, it was a slight bummer that the story didn’t wrap up like I thought it would, and it seemed a little unresolved, but all in all it was an enticing read and I did enjoy it–and yes, I would still recommend you read it, fair follower (or random, stumble-upon stranger). With all that taken into account, I’d give it a fair 3.8/5 stars 😉

Leave a Reply

