Inhuman by Kat Falls

13517617

From Goodreads:

America has been ravaged by a war that has left the eastern half of the country riddled with mutation. Many of the people there exhibit varying degrees of animal traits. Even the plant life has gone feral.

Crossing from west to east is supposed to be forbidden, but sometimes it’s necessary. Some enter the Savage Zone to provide humanitarian relief. Sixteen-year-old Lane’s father goes there to retrieve lost artifacts—he is a Fetch. It’s a dangerous life, but rewarding—until he’s caught.

Desperate to save her father, Lane agrees to complete his latest job. That means leaving behind her life of comfort and risking life and limb—and her very DNA—in the Savage Zone. But she’s not alone. In order to complete her objective, Lane strikes a deal with handsome, roguish Rafe. In exchange for his help as a guide, Lane is supposed to sneak him back west. But though Rafe doesn’t exhibit any signs of “manimal” mutation, he’s hardly civilized . . . and he may not be trustworthy.

 

 

My Thoughts

Wow.

Can we just talk about the characters for a minute? Because their relationships with each other and their dialogue had me laughing hysterically! Rafe is so snarky and hilarious that I was practically rolling. He’s been so hardened by his life in the Feral Zone that he has a sarcastic sense of humor and has toughened himself to survive at all costs, yet as the story progresses you learn more about his background and about how caring he can actually be.

Then there’s Everson, the stoic line guard who looks every bit the obedient soldier on the outside but is really gentle and protective and kind. He’s willing to venture into the Feral Zone in an attempt to help gather information for a vaccine for the virus that’s devastated the population.

*takes deep breath*

I know, this is where those of you who simply can’t stand love triangles roll your eyes. I can hear your collective groans! BUT I’m not so much bothered by love triangles if they’re done right by me, and this was. Some love triangles I find a waste of time and I don’t understanding why there’s even a question of which guy to pick, but in this book the love triangle doesn’t bother me because I understand both options and I’m a little unsure of my personal pick. But if you’re one who really hates the whole love triangle bit (and that’s totally cool if you are!), this might not be your cup of tea.

*big exhale*

Moving on!

Let’s not forget our heroine, Delaney Park aka Lane. She begins the story as just a girl fearful of germs and anything beyond the wall that separates the healthy in the west from the feral in the east. When she’s forced to venture outside of the protection of the wall in order to save someone she loves, she’s also forced to toughen up and grow into the brave person that she ultimately is. Sometimes the decisions she makes are stupid, yes, but still brave. I can respect that, and I do. Because let’s be realistic, we never make the right choices all the time and we end up having to deal with the consequences.

As for the story? I read the little blurb on Amazon and that’s what caught my attention–from there it sounded like it would be another zombie-esque novel (I am a sucker for zombies, truly). But this isn’t even close to what I imagined, and it was really refreshing to read about a world where humans end up infected with animal traits that eventually lead to becoming feral and a mindless killing machine. (The mindless killing machine aspect does sound similar to that of a zombie, now that I think of it . . .)

AND Kat Falls does in no way disappoint with her portrayal of the setting in Inhuman. Seriously, it was one of those books that I read as if it’s a real-life movie happening in my head. The descriptions were so vivid that I could see the ruggedness of the terrain in the Feral Zone, I could see the bloodied bodies and injuries; I could feel the danger and fear.

If you want a thrilling adventure of a read, I am compelled to recommend this book. Inhuman had me busting up laughing one minute and barely breathing for fear of being heard by the characters the next, and then it had me almost crying because I didn’t want it to end like that. I can’t even get over how completely enthralled I am with this story, and I cannot wait for the next one! 5/5 stars;)

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

