Linked by Imogen Howson

14999965

From Goodreads:

Elissa used to have it all: looks, popularity, and a bright future. But for the last three years, she’s been struggling with terrifying visions, phantom pains, and mysterious bruises that appear out of nowhere. 

Finally, she’s promised a cure: minor surgery to burn out the overactive area of her brain. But on the eve of the procedure, she discovers the shocking truth behind her hallucinations: she’s been seeing the world through another girl’s eyes. 

Elissa follows her visions, and finds a battered, broken girl on the run. A girl—Lin—who looks exactly like Elissa, down to the matching bruises. The twin sister she never knew existed. 

Now, Elissa and Lin are on the run from a government who will stop at nothing to reclaim Lin and protect the dangerous secrets she could expose—secrets that would shake the very foundation of their world. 

Riveting, thought-provoking and utterly compelling, Linked will make you question what it really means to be human.

 

 

 

My Thoughts

What first attracted me to this book was the GORGEOUS cover. I mean, c’mon. Just look at it! And then reading the summary, I realized hmm. Personally I haven’t read about a story with this sort of premise, color me intrigued.

And intriguing I found it!

Before anything, though, I need to get a little bit of frustration with Elissa out of my system. Why did you think some of the things you did?! I felt like she overreacted to a  few situations and I’d think to myself, really? That’s what you’re worried about right now? Between that and the self-centered thoughts cropping up from time to time, she could get under my skin.

BUT those are about the only real negatives I have with this story. (Aside from her mom. UGH her mom. She’s crazy.)

The futuristic sci-fi dystopia universe that was brought to life in this book was out of this world! Slidewalks and space ships and hyperdrives and space pirates and worlds upon worlds upon worlds: SO cool. And all the action that was popping up! Oh, you think you’re safe now? Guess again, muahahaha! In no way did this book lack excitement. There was also that whole HORRIFIC moment at the end where I wanted to vomit. I mean I hated it, but I also thought it was shocking in a cool way because it completely took me by surprise, and it was a huge part of the ending.

I do wish there had been more on the romantic aspect because what can I say? I love me some love;) But what was there was cute and I’m positive there will be more love in Unravel, the sequel that releases (eep!) July 8th of this year. If you love Linked‘s cover, just take a gander at Unravel.

Sooo I really liked it, and I can’t wait to read the next book! I’m really hoping that some of the characters I hated are in the next one, because they’re the kind of people I love to hate. With their ignorance and inhumaneness and cruel perspectives, I need to see them get crushed at some point in the future of this series. For Linked, I’m going with an excited 4/5 stars;)

 

Leave a Reply

