Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

9943270

From Goodreads:

When Sybella arrived at the doorstep of St Mortain half mad with grief and despair the convent were only too happy to offer her refuge – but at a price. The sisters of this convent serve Death, and with Sybella naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, she could become one of their most dangerous weapons.

But her assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to the life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. But when Sybella discovers an unexpected ally she discovers that a daughter of Death may find something other than vengeance to live for…

 

 

My Thoughts

Grave Mercy was the first book I ever wrote a review for (here), and it also happens to be the first book in the His Fair Assassin Trilogy. If you haven’t read it yet, I vote you read Grave Mercy and then read Dark Triumph, because they. are. AMAZING.

Any historical fans out there? Because this story is set in 1489 Brittany and is rife with swords, chain mail, knights, castles, counts, lords, ladies, and the duchess. AND it continues to hold all the political cunning and deceit you expect from this second installment. Once again, if you are a fan of historical I would highly, HIGHLY recommend this book!

I absolutely LOVE Sybella’s inner dialogue. Seriously, her dry sarcasm and frankness is to die for.  And with having been trained in the convent as a handmaiden of Death, her skills with a knife are as sharp as her tongue. AND she’s skilled with all manner of weapons and poisons and disguises. She’s bada** and she does what needs to be done. She has a devastating past that fuels her as an assassin. And though she feels she is too dark and doesn’t believe she has one anymore, she does have a heart and is worthy of love. 

Okay, so I love everything about her.

Now d’Albret, on the other hand . . .

*shudders*

D’Albret is THE most ruthless, vile, sadistic villain I think I have ever read. He truly is a bloodthirsty monster of a human being–I mean the things he has done and the way his mind works! Let’s put it this way: if you were given the option of either suffering the consequences of d’Albret or having your stomach sliced open and dying a slow, agonizing death, I would suggest you settle your affairs and take Death’s hand. D’Albret is the very essence of evil, and the comforting arms of Death would be preferable to ever encountering the cruelty of that wicked man.

And–as expected–there is a love story laced in, but I will not mention who the knight in question is because I do not want to spoil it;) Though when reading the book you’ll figure out sooner rather than later who I am referring to. I’ll just tell you that I LOVE Sybella and the knight who is so fierce and yet so caring. He is THE match for Sybella, and their banter is perfect–I approve this match!

One issue I had though . . . Where is the rest? I mean, you can’t end it right there, Robin! *exhales* Alas, I shall be deigned to wait these next months for Annith’s story, Mortal Heart, to finish the tale which thus began a book ago . . . But that’s okay, I can have patience if it means I will know the outcome eventually;) This book is FANTASTIC  and in my opinion, it deserves . . .

5/5 stars;)

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

