Othello (Shakespeare for Everyone Else) by C.E. Wilson

Othello

From Goodreads:

While it’s nearly impossible to replicate or improve on these works, it is (thanks to their timeless nature) possible to make them more accessible to a wider audience.

In this Young Adult retelling of one of William Shakespeare’s most memorable plays, join C.E. Wilson as she breathes new life into Othello, the second book in her series Shakespeare for Everyone Else.

When Archer decides that he’s had enough of Orion and Devony running what he thought was going to be his school he takes desperate measures to ruin everything. Through lies and betrayal, deceit and deception, Archer will stop at nothing to get what he wants, and he doesn’t care whose lives he has to destroy in the process.

Can anyone stop one of William Shakespeare’s most villainous characters in this YA retelling of the epic tragedy of Othello?

 

 

My Thoughts

Okay, so I have to admit: I never read Shakespeare’s Othello . . . aaaand I will admit that the thought of reading the original is pret-ty intimidating. Which is why when I snooped out this retelling I was relieved to find a premise I could actually relate to.

This version made the story of Othello so easy for me to understand–it really put the plot into perspective without me having to struggle through the language and references in the original.

Transplanting the plot right into a high school setting? Well done, I say!

But with that said, the dialogue was a little stiff for me. It was easy for me to follow along with, yes, but it didn’t flow like normal conversation would. It was stilted enough that I was bothered by it.

And MAN, was it full of drama! My word, there’s so much manipulation and suspicion and deceit! I feel like I need to see this performed, because I think it would be infinitely more amazing to see it played out as was its original purpose.

All in all it did the job that I was looking for–I followed the story line and understood everything that was happening, but I felt like the dialogue needed to slide along smoother than it did.

3/5 stars;)

Leave a Reply

