Waiting on Wednesday: The Story of Owen

63728_10151472890397034_138100958_M

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where we spotlight upcoming releases we can’t wait to get our hands on!

 

 

The pick of the week is:

 

The Story of Owen

The Story of Owen (Dragon Slayer of Trondheim #1)
By E.K. Johnston
Publication Date: March 1

From Goodreads:

Listen! For I sing of Owen Thorskard: valiant of heart, hopeless at algebra, last in a long line of legendary dragon slayers. Though he had few years and was not built for football, he stood between the town of Trondheim and creatures that threatened its survival. There have always been dragons. As far back as history is told, men and women have fought them, loyally defending their villages. Dragon slaying was a proud tradition. But dragons and humans have one thing in common: an insatiable appetite for fossil fuels. From the moment Henry Ford hired his first dragon slayer, no small town was safe. Dragon slayers flocked to cities, leaving more remote areas unprotected. Such was Trondheim’s fate until Owen Thorskard arrived. At sixteen, with dragons advancing and his grades plummeting, Owen faced impossible odds armed only with a sword, his legacy, and the classmate who agreed to be his bard. Listen! I am Siobhan McQuaid. I alone know the story of Owen, the story that changes everything. Listen!

Yeah, the release date is Saturday, but I’m so excited I HAVE to use it as my Waiting on choice! I found this book on a HUGE list of 2014 YA releases and as soon as I read the blurb above, I couldn’t help but to slap it right on my TBR. I can’t WAIT for a chance to read this!

What book are you waiting for?

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

