White Space by Ilsa J. Bick

White Space

From Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Emma Lindsay has problems: a head full of metal, no parents, a crazy artist for a guardian whom a stroke has turned into a vegetable, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so ghostly and surreal it’s as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she’s real.

Then she writes “White Space,” a story about these kids stranded in a spooky house during a blizzard.

Unfortunately, “White Space” turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. The manuscript, which she’s never seen, is a loopy Matrix meets Inkheart story in which characters fall out of different books and jump off the page. Thing is, when Emma blinks, she might be doing the same and, before long, she’s dropped into the very story she thought she’d written. Trapped in a weird, snow-choked valley, Emma meets other kids with dark secrets and strange abilities: Eric, Casey, Bode, Rima, and a very special little girl, Lizzie. What they discover is that they–and Emma–may be nothing more than characters written into being from an alternative universe for a very specific purpose.

Now what they must uncover is why they’ve been brought to this place–a world between the lines where parallel realities are created and destroyed and nightmares are written–before someone pens their end.

 

 

 

My Thoughts

Okay, so I need to admit something straight out: I had no idea what was going on for the longest time in this book! From the very first page, I was dropped right into this completely CRAZY world and it took a little time to get used to. But I will say this: even when I was confused and hadn’t really grasped why things were the way they were, I was LOVING this story.

This book was like a drug and I couldn’t get enough!

There were always unanswered questions that I’d have to root out the answers to. And by root out I mean I’d just keep reading until they were finally answered for me down the road, because Ilsa is some mad genius that created this INCREDIBLE idea of a story. Inception in book-form really is the perfect description. Only instead of dream-worlds there are book-worlds and it all BLEW MY BLEEPING MIND!

I really was scared starting the story that I wouldn’t be able to get into it. I was lost in the unfamiliar and unique terms that were thrown out like I should already know what they mean. And when I first met each of the characters they had the story swapping between their points of view and cutting off in the middle of sentences and tense scenes and it KILLED me. BUT the more I read, the more accustomed to that style of writing I became and the more I appreciated–and ultimately LOVED–it.

Somehow, even though there is a whole SLEW of characters, they were written in a way that they latched onto me and didn’t let go–I love them ALL! Well, all except Chad . . . I didn’t particularly connect with him. But everyone else? Yeah, by seeing the story through glimpses of Tony, Rima, Casey, Eric, Lizzie, Bode, and Emma’s perspectives? I was EATING IT UP!

Another fun note about the story: if you’re squeamish reading about blood and gore, this book is going to test those boundaries. MAN does it get graphic! And you know what? The twisted side of me was absolutely LOVING it, it kept it vivid and gripped my attention tight. The whole entire story was chock-FULL of action–all action, all the time.

So. Cool.

This story is so dark and has such depth, I can’t get over how intrigued I am by it still. I keep thinking about the story even after I’ve already finished it, going back over scenes in my mind because this book makes you think. If you haven’t read White Space yet, I would undoubtedly recommend that you do!

4.5/5 stars;)

2 Comments

    • Trust me, it held me in confusion for a LONG time, and I’m still trying to puzzle some things out. But I love the characters SO much and I’m so invested in them that between that and the action and all the gory parts, I plunged completely into the story. It was a struggle, but somehow I loved it!

Leave a Reply

