Teardrop by Lauren Kate

Teardrop

From Goodreads:

Never, ever cry…

Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away?

 

 

 

My Thoughts

I need to first address that cover: can you say STUNNING? Seriously beautiful work there!

AS for the story, I think I came into it with some incredibly high expectations, because I just wasn’t wowed by this one. I really liked it, I did! But I wasn’t entirely captivated by it.

The prologue had me GASPING. I mean, that’s a pretty big BANG to start the story off with. So after that, it felt a little slow and draggy. There was sooo much intensity that it dulled a bit as the story opened up more.

There’s some definite insta-love going on here. When Eureka first meets Ander, there’s this immediate, deep connection that she feels that she continuously talks herself out of until BAM! she loves him. It’s not that I hate insta-love–if the situation is convincing enough for me, I will LOVE it. But it seemed like she had nothing but doubts about him and then all of a sudden she loves him without even having that much interaction with him.

BUT I can’t fault Ander for that because he’s been looking out for her his whole life; he’s developed this deep devotion for her and he would do anything to keep her safe. So I’m over here thinking, *swoon* Ander is a dreamboat. It’s just Eureka’s insta-love for him that has me feeling ‘meh’ about her feelings, but not his.

And then there’s BROOKS, whose whole situation I’m upset about. The best friend, always there for her even when no one else was, the one you talk to about anything and EVERYTHING and that’s what happens to him? Come ON! NO! It’s frustrating is what it is, because all of a sudden he has these cruel moments that are not like him AT ALL and I don’t like it. I want the real Brooks back!

Basically I love Ander AND Brooks, so don’t ask me to pick between them;) And I like Eureka, but feel ‘meh’ about her sometimes.

The premise of this story is really interesting, though. Having the whole maiden’s-tears-swallowed-Atlantis version kept reminding me of Alice’s ocean of tears in Wonderland, you know? And I love me some Alice, so reading about this version of the legend was SUPER cool.

All in all, I enjoyed the story! It just wasn’t a ‘WHOA, WOW, YES!’ kind of experience. I am looking forward to the next book, Waterfall, slated for publication on October 28 of this year! For me this was a

3.8/5 stars;)

Leave a Reply

