The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry

The Summer I Found You

 

From Goodreads:

All they have in common is that they’re less than perfect. And all they’re looking for is the perfect distraction.

Kate’s dream boyfriend has just broken up with her and she’s still reeling from her diagnosis of type 1 diabetes. Aidan planned on being a lifer in the army and went to Afghanistan straight out of high school. Now he’s a disabled young veteran struggling to embrace his new life. When Kate and Aidan find each other neither one wants to get attached. But could they be right for each other after all?

 

 

My Thoughts

I’m just a bundle of feels right now. Ohh, the feels!

Not gonna lie, I kept getting frustrated with Kate when she wouldn’t tell Aidan about her diabetes. I mean, the guy got his arm blown off and tells you all these hard repercussions of that horrible incident he had to go through and you can’t be straight with him? AND he’s TOTALLY swoony!

Sooo grow a pair already, sheesh!

BUT she does grow on me, because she starts to grow up and stops being so flippant about her serious health issues. And she FINALLY learns to trust Aidan like she should have all along. (Girl, it would have made thing SO much easier if you’d trusted him in the first place. GAH)

The story is told from both Kate and Aidan’s perspectives–not only did I love each’s inner dialogue, but I loved their conversations with each other! That Kate is so frank and blunt is just what Aidan needs. They understand each other, and their chemistry is one that felt real.

This isn’t a super long read, and it’s one that hooked me enough that I sat down and read it straight through the night, start to finish. It tugged at my heartstrings at times, and had me chuckling at others–any book that can do that is a success for me:)

 

4/5 stars;)

 

Leave a Reply

