Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Lola and the Boy Next Door

 

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion…she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit–more sparkly, more fun, more wild–the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket–a gifted inventor–steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

 


 

 My Thoughts

As if the summary alone wasn’t good enough, I read the whole book in one sitting.

Yes, it’s one of those. A book that is so fantastic and you love them so much that YOU COULDN’T POSSIBLY PUT THEM DOWN until you finished. Mind you, I just bought it this morning. It is that incredible.

Lola is a kind of cool I could never be–she expresses herself through her loud fashion choices, but that makes her her. And her back story is hard but endearing–I really felt for her. And when she was all sad and depressed, I felt it right along with her–and all because she forced herself to try to be someone that she isn’t because of what someone else thought of her. And that happens with so many people–someone will criticize something about you and you try to change that part of you because of it, but it never brings you happiness.

Feels.

Initially I loved Lola and Max, her tattooed, hot rocker boyfriend. I loved what they had, but then the more I read the more I fell away from shipping them–they just didn’t seem like they were “it” for each other, you know? And then he has some real jerk moments, and I was done with him.

And then there’s Cricket Bell.

*swoonswoonswoonswoonSWOOOOON*

Ladies and gentlemen, this is how you do the boy next door. He is funny and quirky and nerdy and talented and cool. And he’s a good guy and a FANTASTIC friend and yes, immensely attractive.

Cricket = perfection.

I wish we had gotten a little bit more of Lola and Cricket together. I LOVED all the time they spent together, but I want more of them together together because I’m greedy like that;)

Oh, oh! AND we get to see Anna and St. Clair some more, so SCORE on that front! They are, of course, ADORABLE.

I loved Anna and the French Kiss, and I loved Lola even MORE!

 

5/5 stars;)

 

3 Comments

  1. I finally got around to reading both Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door… They are so amazing!!! I can’t wait for Isla and The Happily Ever After! I also read The One by Kiera Cass… It’s so good!

Leave a Reply

