Altered by Jennifer Rush

Altered

 

When you can’t trust yourself, who can you believe?

Everything about Anna’s life is a secret. Her father works for the Branch at the helm of its latest project: monitoring and administering treatments to the four genetically altered boys in the lab below their farmhouse. There’s Nick, Cas, Trev . . . and Sam, who’s stolen Anna’s heart. When the Branch decides it’s time to take the boys, Sam stages an escape, killing the agents sent to retrieve them. 

Anna is torn between following Sam or staying behind in the safety of her everyday life. But her father pushes her to flee, making Sam promise to keep her away from the Branch, at all costs. There’s just one problem. Sam and the boys don’t remember anything before living in the lab—not even their true identities.

Now on the run, Anna soon discovers that she and Sam are connected in more ways than either of them expected. And if they’re both going to survive, they must piece together the clues of their past before the Branch catches up to them and steals it all away.

 

 

 

My Thoughts

First of all, I think it’s been ENTIRELY too long since I last posted a review. As for how I feel about this book?

LOVE.

Each of the four boys in this story have such diverse personalities that I can’t help but fall in love with. There’s Cas with his abounding hilarity and wormhole of a stomach; Trev the deep thinker who’s the best friend you can ask for; Sam’s leadership and quiet constancy; but then there’s Nick with his inexplicable hostility toward Anna.

And who is Anna really?

And to answer your unspoken question, I can’t pick which of the guys is my favorite–that’s WAY too hard. Personally it’s a toss-up between Sam and Cas. Throughout the entire book you know Sam is the one the author is pairing Anna up with (it’s the most obvious fact in the book) and I’m a complete sucker for the author’s intended romance. But while I was reading, I couldn’t help but fall in love with Cas, because he is hilarious and who doesn’t love a funny guy? And he’s always eating which I can relate to, being that my stomach is never satisfied;) But then Trev is this thoughtful guy who is Anna’s best friend, and we all know how hard it is to not fall in love with the best friend. And even Nick, who happens to be a complete jerk most of the time, ends up taking a little piece of my heart with his protectiveness over Anna (albeit a really little piece . . . just a sliver).

There were SO many times while reading this that my mouth just dropped because I was completely floored by plot twists that sprang up like BAM! Everything I thought I knew for fact is shaken as more and more layers are unveiled. The story is overflowing with suspense and action, AND let’s not forget those swoony boys;)

I was a little restless at being out of the loop with all that Branch business, though–I mean, it felt like forever before I really learned about the nefarious organization. BUT I do understand that was kind of the point–Anna and even the boys are in the dark about the Branch and what exactly their purpose is. That’s a huge part of the plot, and . . . I don’t know what my problem is, I guess I wish I wouldn’t have been confused about what the Branch was for as long as I was.

All in all, I am a fan of this series and I can NOT WAIT to read the next installment!

 

4.75/5 stars;)

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

