The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

The Statistical Probability

 

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?


Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. Having missed her flight, she’s stuck at JFK airport and late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row.

A long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, and Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the airport chaos upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?

Quirks of timing play out in this romantic and cinematic novel about family connections, second chances, and first loves. Set over a twenty-four-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it. 

 

 

 

 

 My Thoughts

 

If you’re ever having a bad day, I would suggest this book to you right off the bat. It’s made me feel so light and buoyant and just plain happy to read.

 

There were times when Hadley was a little too much for me. I know that your dad is getting remarried and it hurts and you’re angry, but do you really need to be so petty? Then again, you are a teenage girl . . . so the answer to that question is of course you need to be. Because no one understands you, right?

 

But Oliver does.

 

Now I don’t personally believe that love at first sight is a realistic occurrence, but there’s a quote by Ann Aguirre that I LOVE because I feel like for me, that explains it better: “Sometimes when you meet someone, there’s a click. I don’t believe in love at first sight but I believe in that click. Recognition.”

 

That click of recognition is what Hadley feels with Oliver when she meets him in the airport. Their entire flight I watched them get lost in each other and then suddenly they’re landing and one of the MOST ADORABLE MOMENTS EVER happens–like a scene straight out of a movie–and then, nothing. Through the hustle and bustle of the crowds they part and I’m SCREAMING at them because they didn’t think to get each other’s numbers and how are they going to find each other?! 

 

They need to find each other.

 

And throughout it all, Hadley has to deal with her resentment and her anger over her father leaving her and her mom for another woman. At first I didn’t like her dad, hearing about him and his choices. But then seeing how Hadley and her dad were distancing themselves from each other, I felt bad for him. By the end of the book and the end of the wedding, I was actually crying happy tears because seeing dads with their daughters tugs on ALL the heartstrings.

 

So yeah, Hadley grew on me. A lot. And I admire her for all of her growth:)

 

This book has a lot of moments of feeling adrift and lost, but also of finding your way back to where you need to be. You see it in all of Hadley’s relationships, be it with her mom and her dad and Oliver. It’s a book that makes you feel good reading it, and leaves you smiling like a fool;)

 

 

5/5 stars;)

 

 

9 Comments

  1. I do want to try this one! I didn’t have such a fun time with The Geography of You and Me, but isn’t this one getting made into a movie?? And I like to try more than just one book by an author before I be too judgy. Hehe. x) Great review! I’m totally tempted now.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

Leave a Reply

