Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock

Hemlock

 

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater and the hit television show True Blood will flock to this first book in the supernatural mystery series set in a town where werewolves live in plain sight.


Mackenzie Dobson’s life has been turned upside down since she vowed to hunt her best friend Amy’s killer: a white werewolf. Lupine syndrome—also known as the werewolf virus—is on the rise across the country, and bloodlust is not easy to control. But it soon becomes clear that dangerous secrets are lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, Mac’s hometown—and she is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her in grave danger.

Kathleen Peacock’s thrilling debut novel provides readers with a mystery that Kimberly Derting, author of The Body Finder, calls “clever and frightening,” while Sophie Jordan, New York Times bestselling author of Firelight, raves: “Forget every werewolf book you’ve ever read. This one breaks the mold.”

 

 

 

 

 My Thoughts

 

If you’re looking for a book that throws action at you right off the bat, sucking you helplessly in from the first page, it’s right here.

 

Sweet mercy alive, this book is inTENSE!

 

Mac seems to be pretty emotional throughout the book, but seeing as her best friend was killed by a werewolf and she’s losing everyone around her for various reasons, added to the fact that she almost dies about a BILLION times, I’ll let her emotional displays slide. Because how on earth is anyone expected to deal with the life she has?

 

Good gracious.

 

Not to mention all the mental blows from the abundance of secrets and betrayals that are hurled her way. Seriously, who knew one town could harbor so many secrets?! It’s like every character we meet throughout the book is hiding something, and it blew my mind every time one of their secrets is revealed.

 

There was a little while at the beginning that I was worried that the stereotypical love triangle was going to form and I was going to go lay back outside in the sun until it actually incinerated me (because that would be preferable). So I wasn’t too sold on Mac’s love interests because of that shaky, what-if-this-turns-into-one-of-those-triangle-debacles fears I harbored, and it looked like it might go that direction. But the love triangle vibes died down and I was able to believe her relationships more, and not feel like it was just a plot point.

 

*silent cheers*

 

So the story is this whole action-filled mystery-thriller where danger is thrust in your face at every turn and whenever I guessed at who I thought the murderer was–as I was constantly trying and failing to do–someone else would pop up on the radar as a possible suspect. Until that complete WHAT THE BLEEP moment where I realized who it was and I’m fairly positive my eyes almost snapped out of their sockets and my jaw flopped open limply.

 

I’m over-the-top impressed by this book’s ability to blindside me.

 

Over and over and over again.

 

Also, let’s talk about how creepy Amy-the-horribly-slaughtered-best-friend-who-haunts-Mac’s-every-dream is. Even I dreaded when Mac would fall asleep, because that meant another interaction with that overly eerie version of Amy.

 

C-R-E-E-P-Y.

 

And that ending? Creepiest moment of the entire story! GAH why do authors just leave you hanging by your fingertips, your grip slipping on loose gravel as you try to hold on until you get the closure only the following book will bring?!

 

So yeah. You want an acutely intense and paranormal read? Read Hemlock. I loved it, and I hope you do too!

 

 

4.5/5 stars;)

 

 

Leave a Reply

