Top Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

 

 So my picks for this Top Ten have various reasons as to why I almost set them aside. Some of them I actually ended up really liking, they just took a little longer to convince me. Others I felt fair enough about them, but even when I finished I didn’t really form any sort of attachment to them, and I felt like I might as well have not read them in the first place. And then there are those that I fought through to finish just out of spite and ended up resenting the fact that I was too stubborn to DNF them.

 

For whatever reason, these are books that I almost put down, but didn’t:)

 

 

Incarceron

Incarceron

 

 

 

The Summoning

The Summoning

 

 

 

If I Stay

If I Stay

 

 

 

Halo

Halo

 

 

 

Paranormalcy

Paranormalcy

 

 

 

 

Crossed

Crossed

 

 

 

Fields of Elysium

Fields of Elysium

 

 

 

Unremembered

Unremembered

 

 

 

Born of Illusion

Born of Illusion

 

 

 

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

 

 

 

White Space

White Space

 

5 Comments

  1. I hate to miss out on a good book I wasn’t in the mood for, or that starts slow, so I have a hard time giving up on books. But sometimes I feel like I wasted time trying to finish the ones I keep going for, too.

    I’ve read Incarceron–it was one of those ‘not bad, but not great’ books for me.

    • Same here! There have only been a handful of books that I legitimately COULD NOT FINISH, no matter how much I wanted to stick it out through the whole thing. And then there are those times that I just wasn’t in a super read-y mood, and I feel like I ruin the first-time reading experience for myself.

      Incarceron for me was one of the ones that got better as I read it, so I’m glad I stuck through with it. Though I’m not entirely sure if I’m invested enough to keep with the series, you know?

Leave a Reply

