A Darkness Strange and Lovely by Susan Dennard

A Darkness Strange and Lovely

 

Following an all-out battle with the walking Dead, the Spirit Hunters have fled Philadelphia, leaving Eleanor alone to cope with the devastating aftermath. But there’s more trouble ahead—the evil necromancer Marcus has returned, and his diabolical advances have Eleanor escaping to Paris to seek the help of Joseph, Jie, and the infuriatingly handsome Daniel once again. When she arrives, however, she finds a whole new darkness lurking in this City of Light. As harrowing events unfold, Eleanor is forced to make a deadly decision that will mean life or death for everyone.

 

 

 

 

 My Thoughts

 

Zombies.

 

Magic.

 

Zombie Magic.

 

Can you tell where this is going?

 

This book is BLOODY BRILLIANT. The whole series is addicting, really. If you have not yet tried out a zombie novel, I would say go with this one.

 

DID I MENTION IT HAS MAGIC?

 

Eleanor is back and has sold off nearly all of her possessions to be able to afford her mother’s medical bills, because hearing about your daughter’s encounters with Spirit-Hunters and the Hungry Dead can sometimes push you past the brink of insanity. (^^understatement^^)

 

The Spirit-Hunters have left Philadelphia to deal with the les Morts roaming the streets of Paris. That leaves Eleanor to handle the fallout from the Philadelphia deaths and Dead when BAM! Seemingly out of nowhere Eleanor is being chased by Hell Hounds. Which, if caught, would cause her soul to be permanently obliterated.

 

Sounds like a bad day, yeah?

 

So off she runs to Paris to find the Spirit-Hunters and en route encounters a demon. At the time I couldn’t help but wonder how she has the worst luck in the entire world. And then she’s forced to bind to the demon (or face death–not much of a choice there)! AND she’s constantly being pulled by her magic. Did I mention she’s a necromancer? Yeah. She has magic and can control the dead, no big deal. The problem?

 

It’s black magic and as addicting as opium.

 

Well, and there’s the problem of how things ended between Eleanor and Daniel.

 

Ohh Daniel Sheridan.

 

D   A  N   I   E   L .

 

I love him. He keeps doing things for Eleanor because he obviously loves her even though he “doesn’t love her.” He’s always there and he’s a charmer and would do anything for Eleanor and he’s a brilliant inventor and . . .

 

Uh, where was I?

 

Through all of this, there’s something sinister lurking in Paris–it’s creating les Morts left and right and it’s up to the Spirit-Hunters, Eleanor and her demon to figure it all out before it’s too late. Oh yeah, and JIE HAS GONE MISSING. The common theme seems to be that everything that can go wrong, WILL GO WRONG. Good luck with that!

 

I’m going to be honest–many instances I found myself scrubbing my hands down my face because I just wanted to strangle Eleanor! It always happens, though–the MC will think that they have to hide things and that as long as they keep it a secret everything will all work out but SURPRISE! It never works. People are going to feel betrayed and you’ll be labeled as a liar and untrustworthy aaaaand yeah. Don’t hide sketchy things, it won’t end well.

 

But I also feel bad for Eleanor because she’s lost everything and everyone. What’s a girl to do? Apparently go kick some Dead a**, that’s what!

 

Sometimes when I am in love with a book, I ramble on and on about it . . . like I did just now. I love it, I love it, I LOVE IT!

 

 

5/5 stars;)

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

