City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

City of Heavenly Fire

 

ΕRCHOMAI, SEBASTIAN HAD SAID. 

I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance?

 

 

 

My Thoughts

 

**SPOILER ALERT: THis review contains spoilers, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED**

 

If that wasn’t one of THE ALL-TIME BEST endings to a series, I don’t know what is.

 

*bulgy eyes* I don’t even know where to start!

 

I guess I’ll start off how the book does (though I may end up rambling by the end because FEELS). Clare does a really good job of introducing us to and incorporating Emma Carstairs and the Blackthorn children into this story–the main characters of the next series in the Shadow World, The Dark Artifices. You’re with them as the Los Angeles Institute is attacked and they’re all left orphaned. You grow attached to them and are invested in their future.

 

Especially since Emma is a Carstairs.

 

Which leads me to the whole Brother Zachariah situation. Holy heavenly fire, I was NOT expecting Zachariah to become Jem again when he tried to help Jace reign in the heavenly fire. The ending of The Infernal Devices was bittersweet to me, but here we have Jem back and at the end of the book, Tessa is with him and it made the ending to their story even sweeter! Yet it’s not really the end, is it? Because you know they’re going to Los Angeles and will end up in TDA.

 

If you only read TMI and never read TID, I’d DEFINITELY recommend reading TID. It enhances the story so much! It adds a whole nother layer of feels and emotional attachment!

 

Speaking of emotional attachments–COUPLES!

 

We didn’t see as much of Magnus and Alec together because of the break up and how Magnus was one of the kidnapped Downworlder representatives on the Council. But even though they aren’t technically together throughout the book, you can still feel how devoted they are to each other as Alec does everything he can to save him.

 

Jace and Clary. Can I just tell you how much I LOVE Jace and Clary? alotalotalotalotALOT! This book did not disappoint in the hot and heavy swoons department–HOLY HELL (<-multiple puns right there, folks). Clary uses her power with runes and Jace no longer has to fight with the heavenly fire, so you know what that means–things went down. Hot things. Swoony things. It was perfect, and they deserved it after everything they’ve been through throughout the ENTIRE series, you know?

 

*STILL SWOONING*

 

Isabelle and Simon had me just about dying multiple times throughout this book, let me tell ya. You see Isabelle start to trust more, which is definite growth on her part and adorable to see her needing Simon. And there’s Simon spouting off his love for her when his faculties aren’t really present, which is also adorable. But then there’s that moment when they’re all being attacked by demons and Izzy gets her leg all razored to shreds by demon teeth, and she’s dying and you know Clare said there would be deaths and I think my heart might have stopped beating because I was dreading her dying . . .

 

But Simon saves her.

 

All to have been for naught when they’re trapped in Edom with no way out, save for sacrificing either Simon’s or Magnus’ immortality. I cried when Magnus offered himself up, because in no way did I want him to die yet it seemed like that was the only option. Because I forgot Simon was a vampire. And once Simon offered his own immortality, along with all of his memories of the Shadow World–Jace, Alec, Magnus, Isabelle, Clary, everything–I was bawling. He paid the price and forgot all about them, almost but not entirely everything. And the book ends with the hope of him remembering everything, and knowing that he remembers enough.

 

*tears*

 

And Luke and Jocelyn FINALLY get married!

 

You know what did break my heart in a weird, twisted way? Sebastian’s death. Did anyone else get this way?? It comes down to Clary and Sebastian, brother vs sister, as we all knew it would. But once Clary uses the heavenly fire contained in Heosphorus and burns out all the evil in Sebastian, we get a glimpse of the person he could have been–Jonathan. Jocelyn holds him and cries as he dies and apologizes for what he’s done and tells Clary how to defeat all the Endarkened. It made me ache with thoughts of what could have been, and for the Jonathan that never had a chance to be good because that choice was taken from him before birth.

 

It was hard to watch.

 

Then were the other deaths that had an impact on me. Meliorn’s was more of a shock because Alec took his life and had no hesitation about doing so, which is entirely different from how he was in City of Bones. But then, he had Magnus to find and he would do anything save him.

 

I never really felt a connection with Raphael before this book, but seeing him and Magnus together when they were chained up had me feeling for him. And then Sebastian kills him, and a little piece of my heart felt broken.

 

And Jordan–I honestly was not expecting that to happen, and it happened so soon that I was completely stunned by it. Like when Hedwig died in The Deathly Hallows–it was a stressful situation but I was COMPLETELY OBLIVIOUS to the fact that someone was about to die.

 

I was expecting more devastating deaths, though. But that doesn’t mean I’m disappointed IN THE LEAST. The characters I love lived and it was a happy ending, but it didn’t feel as though it wasn’t earned, you know? Which is why I love it so much. Everyone I loved lived but their lives weren’t handed to them and they didn’t survive easily.

 

Pretty much Cassandra Clare gave the fans the perfect ending to this installment of the Shadow World. And even as intense and gut-twisting and bloody as this book is, it still delivered the humor that is entirely unique to this story and these characters. I don’t think I’ve read another series that makes me laugh as hard as this one does, ever.

 

I. Die. Of LAUGHTER.

 

So this is my thank you to Cassie Clare for her storytelling genius and devotion to her Shadowhunter fans. We love you and we love your characters, and they will live on in our hearts forever (and hopefully we see some in TDA, yeah?;)) This was the perfect ending to a series that will forever be close to my heart, and I can’t wait for the countless times I will undoubtedly reimmerse myself into the Shadow World and reread your series.

 

 

5/5 stars;)

Leave a Reply

