Of Poseidon by Anna Banks

Of Poseidon

 

Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen—literally, ouch!—both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma’s gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom…
Told from both Emma and Galen’s points of view, here is a fish-out-of-water story that sparkles with intrigue, humor, and waves of romance.

 

 

 

 

 My Thoughts

 

Any time I see a mermaid-y book, I’m always a little hesitant because mermaids aren’t something I jump up and down for, you know? But this one was actually fun!

 

And what a way to hook a reader! (Get it? HOOK?XD) Throw you right into the middle of some devastating action. I didn’t even think what was happening was real, it was shocking!

 

The banter from Galen and Emma and then between Toraf and Rayna was priceless. I think I actually snorted while reading the dialogue between these pairs.

 

And seeing Toraf with Rayna was about the most precious thing ever. A big, tough guy who’s protective and caring and gentle with his lady is freaking adorable! Especially with all the hell Rayna puts him through. And Galen and Emma have some hot and swoony moments themselves, yes they do.

 

And I looooove me some swoons;)

 

Now I know Galen was trying to distance himself from Emma because she’s supposed to marry his brother, Grom, but come ON! Stop with the push and pull act, it’s killing Emma and quite frankly it’s killing me as well. I know it was the honorable thing to do–that he didn’t really have a choice but to try to prevent anything from forming between himself and Emma–but darn it all, I want them together!

 

*huff*

 

There were some times with Emma, though . . . I was going to strangle that girl! One aspect of her personality (because of what she is) is that she has a temper in her–it’s ingrained in who she is. But most of the time it seemed like more tantrum-throwing than temper. Her one fight with Rayna, though–that was a legitimate fight and some real exciting stuff!

 

Like I said, sometimes the mermaid angle is hard for me to swallow, and I found myself thinking exactly that whenever the Syrena transformed into their fins. I can read about almost anything paranormal or fantastical and visualizing it isn’t odd, but for some reason the image of a mer-person still looks weird in my mind . . .

 

BUT my difficulty with mermaids aside, this story was fun and angsty and well worth the read:) And the ending snuck up on me and left me needing to read the next book! Good thing I bought both books at the same time;) Also, the covers are FANTASTIC. 

 

4/5 stars;)

 

Leave a Reply

