Stay by Deb Caletti

Stay

 

Clara’s relationship with Christian is intense from the start, and like nothing she’s ever experienced before. But what starts as devotion quickly becomes obsession, and it’s almost too late before Clara realizes how far gone Christian is and what he’s willing to do to make her stay.

Now Clara has left the city and Christian behind. No one back home has any idea where she is, but she still struggles to shake off her fear. She knows Christian won’t let her go that easily, and that no matter how far she runs, it may not be far enough….

 

 

 

My Thoughts

 

Ladies and Gentlemen, I have lost my Deb Caletti virginity.

 

The feels. The FEEEEEELS.

 

When I initially started this book, I was a little confused at the jump between chapters. You see, the chapters alter back and forth from before and after. But what is the event by which time is judged? That’s a HUGE part of the story that the plot is working toward revealing. Although I was thrown off at first, I figured out the chapter pattern and I have to say, it really enhanced the story.

 

I feel for Clara. Throughout the story she’s trying to define and redefine herself because she doesn’t know who she is anymore, or if she was ever the person she thought she was. How do you trust yourself when you were so inherently wrong? How do you recover? How do you keep the terrible thing that happened from being the defining factor in your life? These are all issues Clara has to muddle through to discover who she is.

 

Her voice is astounding.

 

And Finn Bishop? How could I not fall in love with Finn Bishop? He’s sweet and understanding and good. He’s the kind of person you want to know and want to be like and appreciate every day you spend with them. Are you swooning yet?;)

 

(I am.)

 

Then there’s Christian. I felt everything Clara felt and I understand that he has problems and isn’t always a good person–I get that. But there’s also a part of me that understands him and empathizes with him, and that kind of took me back a little bit. He’s weak and vulnerable and sensitive, but instead of it manifesting as meekness he uses those characteristics for manipulative intentions.

 

So I guess even more than learning about the characters, I learned about and questioned myself, and I think that’s important. Not only did the Clara grow and develop, but I did right along with her. I was along for her ride, but I was also on a journey all my own.

 

Not only were her romantic relationships tested and explored, but every relationship she had was explored throughout the course of the book. And the writing was so thought-provoking–this wasn’t just a read for entertainment, it was a read for learning and actively thinking.

 

I loved it.

 

And the suspense in the story had my heart racing! I kept looking over my own shoulder, that’s how real the apprehension felt.

 

I just can’t praise this book enough, and you better believe I’ll be picking up some more Deb Caletti to read real soon.

 

 

5/5 stars;)

 

 

Leave a Reply

