Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

 

Who doesn’t love taking every opportunity possible to rant about their favorite books they’ve read?

 

Answer: No one.

 

No one can resist getting hyped up about the books they love, which is why this Top Ten seems so particularly thrilling! I’m to the point where it’s hard for me to find words to describe just how eager I am to share my personal favorites of the year with you. Probably a sign that I should get on with it and show you the goods;)

 

 

 

Red Rising

If you have not yet had the chance to read Red Rising, I am begging you to get your hands on a copy because this book is GOLD. It’s Pierce Brown’s debut novel and you’d think he’s been a NYT bestselling author 80 times over–that’s how fantastic this book is. I tell people who don’t even like to read that they should try this out. Most impressive and completely riveting–I bloodydamn loved it.

 

 

 

Cinder

Why did it take me so long to read this, you may ask? Obviously because I’m a fool;) I’d seen it EVERYWHERE since it was first published but never even considered how amazing it might be. Once I finally sat down and read it, I hated myself for ignoring it for so long.

 

 

 

Forbidden

Okay, I was initially scared to read this because I thought it would get weird and I didn’t want to DNF it, because it kills me when I have to do that to a book. This turned out to be one of my favorite reads ever because of the intensity of feels and feels and feels. This story broke me in all the best ways a book can.

 

 

 

Horde

This series. This is quite possibly my FAVORITE zombie series, and I love me some zombie fic. This is the final book in the Razorland Trilogy and I bawled like a baby and loved every second of it. It had real moments of shock–you know when something happens and you have to stop and reread what happened at least four times before you believe it? Yeah, that happened here. And people I love died and the ending was just perfect.

 

 

 

City of Heavenly Fire

This. This right here. I am a giNORMOUS fan of the Shadow World–it’s one I could reread and relive countless times and I’d never get sick of it. This book was pretty much the perfect ending to the series. And the swoons? Holy hell, they were bloody good swoons.

 

 

 

GB5 - Drop of Doubt

My jaw honest to goodness dropped because I just looked up the next book in this series on Goodreads AND IT WAS PUBLISHED NINE DAYS AGO. I love my series, and this one is one of my favorites–there’s always suspense and mystery and espionage and swoons and everything you’d ever want in an enticing read! I’m still dumbfounded I didn’t realize when the next book released (also slightly ashamed).

 

 

 

Lola and the Boy Next Door

All I really need to say to explain my love of this book is Cricket Bell.

 

 

 

Stay

I went in deep with this book. I learned more about myself and relationships than I have from any other book this year. This book and I? We were like this *crosses fingers*

 

 

 

The Distance Between Us

Between the wit and sarcasm of Caymen and the thoughtfulness (and attractiveness) of Xander and their ability to banter seamlessly back and forth, there really isn’t a reason this book wouldn’t have made my Top Ten. Light and fun and adorable–Kasie West is a sure thing;)

 

 

 

Dark Triumph

Let me tell you something–I. Love. Female Assassins. Can you say bada**?! Full of deceit and and death and even swoons!

 

 

 

I have sooooo many more reads I’ve absolutely LOVED, but these are my Top Ten so far;)

 

15 Comments

  1. So many great books here! Cinder is such an amazing book, it surprised me so much when I read it as I was just not expecting to love it as much as I did! You should definitely read the rest of the series asap now!

    I’ve read Enclave and looking forward to reading the rest of the series. And Lola and the Boy Next Door is sitting on my shelf waiting to be read. I’m sure I’ll love it though!

    Great list!
    Becca @ Lost in Thought
    http://lostinthought-becca.blogspot.co.uk/2014/06/top-ten-books-ive-read-so-far-this-year.html

  2. City of Heavenly Fire is arriving at my house this week!! I’m so excited to finally read it. It’s been such a long wait for this conclusion. Cinder is the only book I’ve read from your list and I definitely understand why it’s one there. I’m excited to read Dark Triumph and The Distance Between Us. 🙂

    My TTT

Leave a Reply

