Buzz Kill by Beth Fantaskey

Buzz Kill

 

In this fresh and funny teen mystery, seventeen-year-old Millie joins forces with her classmate, gorgeous but mysterious Chase Albright, to try to find out who murdered Coach Killdare.

Putting the dead in deadline
To Bee or not to Bee? When the widely disliked Honeywell Stingers football coach is found murdered, 17-year-old Millie is determined to investigate. She is chasing a lead for the school newspaper – and looking to clear her father, the assistant coach, and prime suspect.

Millie’s partner is gorgeous, smart-and keeping secrets
Millie joins forces with her mysterious classmate Chase who seems to want to help her even while covering up secrets of his own.

She’s starting to get a reputation…without any of the benefits.
Drama-and bodies-pile up around Millie and she chases clues, snuggles Baxter the so-ugly-he’s-adorable bassett hound, and storms out of the world’s most awkward school dance/memorial mash-up. At least she gets to eat a lot of pie.

Best-selling author Beth Fantaskey’s funny, fast-paced blend of Clueless and Nancy Drew is a suspenseful page-turner that is the best time a reader can have with buried weapons, chicken clocks, and a boy who only watches gloomy movies…but somehow makes Millie smile. Bee-lieve it.

 

 

 

 My Thoughts

 

Hold on a sec while I wipe tears of laughter from my face.

 

This book was one that I won from Goodreads First Reads, but I set it aside and ignored it, reading other books I thought I’d enjoy more before I finally reached for it. And now I feel like an idiot for having waited so long to pick it up, because the whole thing was HILARIOUS.

 

I laughed through the entire book.

 

This is a story that’ll just make you feel good, which is funny considering it’s a murder mystery. And see, usually murder mysteries aren’t the first genre I gravitate towards (which explains my initial reluctance). But through all of the snooping and sleuthing, Millie Ostermeyer is a quirky and witty and entirely unique character. Her voice is undeniably comical.

 

You know what else is funny? Usually I go for some heavy handed swoons in my YA, but this book has more subtle chemistry and romance that is absolutely FREAKING ADORABLE. Also frustrating at times, but ultimately adorable seems a fitting adjective.

 

There were times when I felt that Millie’s reactions were definite overreactions, and I’d pull my head back and blink and wonder, Why did you make such a big deal about that? She had her fair share of juvenile tendencies (it felt like a younger read), but I still couldn’t help but love her character. No matter how often she questions her personality and compares herself with others, she still stays true to who she is and learns that who she is is important. (Although admittedly her self-deprecation could be a little much.)

 

And the mystery aspect? I think I ended up with at least five different conclusions as to who the killer is. Every time I thought, AHA! I have you now! I would be proved wrong (as well as foolish). But once I did catch on to who the killer was, I only swayed from my suspicion once. This book kept me in the dark as to the identity of the culprit for most of the book, which is something I love because who wants to know who did it throughout the whole thing? That totally ruins all the fun of being blindsided!

 

I really enjoyed this book! It kept me laughing and smiling and generally upbeat, even with the depressing back stories and false accusations and ongoing homicide cases.

 

 

4/5 stars;)

 

Leave a Reply

