This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

This is What Happy Looks Like

 

If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds. 

Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs?

 

 

 

My Thoughts

 

I did not want to put this book down.

 

It was a quick and fun read–it had me squirming with how adorable it got.

 

Ellie and Graham’s interaction with each other was so cute I can’t even take it. Did you hear me? I can’t even. (When a girl says that, you know she’s serious;)) When a couple can banter as cleverly and charmingly as these two, I’m a goner.

 

Yeah, the circumstance is on the unbelievable side–she happens to be the illegitimate daughter of a married senator and likely future presidential candidate hiding from possible discovery and living a normal life, while he is the teenage heartthrob actor with hounds of paparazzi watching his every move. What are the chances that one mistyped email address would connect these two?

 

And while I didn’t pick up this book because I thought this situation was a probable one, I thought it would have been enough for him to be the movie star and she a normal girl who didn’t necessarily want a life in the spotlight, you know?

 

Improbability aside, there were parts of this story that did feel real. Really real. Like the unresolved situation with her father–even though I wish that had been figured out (because I wanted neat and tidy), it was more realistic that Ellie was left uncertain about it. And the same goes for her relationship with Graham–there’s no certainty that everything will be perfect, because that would be a fantasy. I kind of like that it ends that way, uncertain.

 

Because even though the future is uncertain, there’s still hope.

 

Like I said, this was a charming and quick read that left me feeling light and happy. Jennifer E. Smith’s writing always leaves me feeling good. Holding this book was like holding truth, because this is what happy looks like–me with a book that lifts me up and makes me smile.

 

 

4/5 stars;)

 

Leave a Reply

