Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

Meant to Be

 

Meant to be or not meant to be . . . that is the question. 

It’s one thing to fall head over heels into a puddle of hazelnut coffee, and quite another to fall for the—gasp—wrong guy. Straight-A junior Julia may be accident prone, but she’s queen of following rules and being prepared. That’s why she keeps a pencil sharpener in her purse and a pocket Shakespeare in her, well, pocket. And that’s also why she’s chosen Mark Bixford, her childhood crush, as her MTB (“meant to be”).

But this spring break, Julia’s rules are about to get defenestrated (SAT word: to be thrown from a window) when she’s partnered with her personal nemesis, class-clown Jason, on a school trip to London. After one wild party, Julia starts receiving romantic texts . . . from an unknown number! Jason promises to help discover the identity of her mysterious new suitor if she agrees to break a few rules along the way. And thus begins a wild goose chase through London, leading Julia closer and closer to the biggest surprise of all: true love.

Because sometimes the things you least expect are the most meant to be.

 

 

 

 

My Thoughts

 

This book was hysterical!

 

Seriously, Julia’s inner dialogue? Unbelievably comical! Do you ever read a story where at least one part of the MC’s personality is so in tune with your own that you can’t help but feel an undeniable connection to them? That was me with Julia’s humor! It’s like a part of my own sense of humor was fused with Julia’s, because I felt like every time she thought a funny remark it was aligned right along with what I find gut-busting. Like this little gem:

 

An older couple is passing us, and I shoot them an apologetic smile, which I hope communicates something along the lines of How terrible to see madness in someone so young; I’m sure his keeper will bring him back to the asylum soon.

 

Oh, oh, and this one!

 

Great. Now I’m dressed like a homeless person and I smell like a gigolo. They’re going to have bloodhounds on my trail to get me out of here, and thanks to this stupid cologne, I’m going to be way too easy to find.

 

And then there’s just the imagery she invokes, akin to my own thoughts on so many levels:

 

I think if someone had written that sentence down a week ago and showed it to me, my brain would have exploded and oozed out of my eye sockets.

 

As far as her humor goes, we are two peas in a pod. I do, however, feel like she and Jason could be a little over the top. She was always frustrated with Jason and snapping at him and overbearingly uptight, to the point where I wondered Who peed in your Cheerios? every day of their trip.

 

And Jason! I understand you’re a teenage boy, and they can be a tad immature. Okay, so maybe more than a tad. BUT I don’t think they’re on the outstanding obnoxious level that Jason managed to achieve every day.

 

There were the tugs on the heartstrings when I read about the impact of Julia’s father’s death on her life, and Jason’s mother’s absence from his. There were the swoony texts between Julia and the mysterious Chris she met at that party. There were the infuriating at times and entertaining at others clashes of Julia’s will versus Jason’s. And through it all, they’re touring and exploring London.

 

L  O  N  D  O  N  .

 

And even though their interactions could be borderline baffling, Julia and Jason’s interactions together were entirely adorable. (Except for that one time. That one time was cringe-worthy–I squinted my eyes partially shut and wished for the end then.)

 

And the solving of the Chris mystery! Oh my SWEET MERCY I was laughing so hysterically in the solitude of my basement I probably sounded mad! Honestly, I was in no way, shape or form expecting that to turn out how it did. Holy WOW that was priceless.

 

This was a fun, funny, perfectsunnybeachy summer read that is sure to lift your spirits (and leave you pining for London;))

 

 

tree 2.0tree 2.0tree 2.0tree half 2.0

Rating: 3.5

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

