The Liebster Award

liebster-award

So I’ve somehow managed to snag a nomination from Stephanie’s Book Reviews for the Liebster Award , which is–as stated above–an award for new, up-and-coming blogs (THANK YOU, you are fantastic! This sure gave me a much needed confidence boost). So pretty much newer bloggers find other newer bloggers to give this award to, sort of as a way to say, “I like what you do, and we newbies need to stick together and keep lifting each other up–we can do this!” Now I’m unsure as to what exactly the official rules are… You see, over time it looks like the rules have kind of evolved and developed and I’m entirely unsure of exactly which is right. Some say nominate 10 other blogs with under 200 followers, and others say nominate 3-5 blogs with under 3,000, and some say nominate 11 blogs without any specifications as to the limit of the number of followers at all. I’ll just go with these acceptance rules I found courtesy of Stephanie and call it good.

Now, to accept the award, these are your rules (as far as I’m aware):

  • Link back the blogger that tagged you
  • Nominate ten others and answer the questions of the one who tagged you
  • Ask ten questions for the bloggers you nominate
  • Let your nominees know of their award

 

Alright, so before I reveal my nominations and the questions I have in store for the nominees, here are the questions I was asked by my nominator (is that a real word? It doesn’t feel like a real word, but seeing as there is no red squiggly line underneath it, I’d say it’s good…)

1. I have a compulsive need to finish a series once I start it. What are your book compulsions?
There are times when, out of nowhere, I get an intense need to reread a series I’ve already read. Just the other day I was halfway through a book I’m planning on writing a review on, and out of the blue the urge to reread Harry Potter punched me in the face. I bookmarked my spot in my book, set it aside, and am now reading Harry Potter for the umpteenth time. Sometimes my need for an old favorite outweighs everything else.
2. Does a lot of hype surrounding a book make you more or less likely to read it?
It’s weird–if everyone has read it except for me, I kind of feel like I don’t deserve to read it and then be a huge fan, like I’m some sort of fan-impostor (which I realize is a relatively ridiculous notion, but hey, I’m weird). But in general, hype over a book doesn’t influence my desire to read or not read a book. Plus, I’ll read almost any YA book, so chances are I’ll read it regardless.
3. What book do you love that you’re embarrassed to admit?
Okay, so after all the grief that Twilight has gotten, sometimes it’s hard to be like, HEY, I love those books and I’ve read them a lot. But I do love them, and I have read them a lot–so there!
4. What book would you love to see as a movie – a movie that faithfully follows the book to a T?
Well, most of the books I want to see turned into movies have already been, are in the process of, or are planned to be hitting the big screen. I would love to see Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi.
5. How many books have you read this year?
Sadly, only about 30–I need to step up my game! Usually I’ve read a lot more at this point in the year.
6. Why did you start your blog? What do you to “promote” it?
I found through Twitter that some people had book blogs and would do giveaways, and I thought to myself, why did I never think to start a book blog? I read all the time. So I just decided, why not? I’ll make one of my own!  I still don’t ever expect to get a ton of followers or anything, but now if my friends are wondering what I’m reading and what I think about books, my thoughts are out there for their perusal. 
7. If you could have any super power what would it be?
You know, usually I take a lot of time trying to weigh the pros and cons of each superpower, but I’m going with my gut this time–I’d totally be invisible. Do you know how many times I wished I had an invisibility cloak like Harry’s? It’s a done deal, I want invisibility.
8. Who would play your favorite author in a movie?
Honestly? No idea. I don’t even know if I have one favorite author in the first place. Not to mention the fact that I’m incapable of fancasting for books-turned-movies and the likes.
9. If you read a book with terrific writing, but were unsatisfied with the story, do you still recommend it to others?
To me, the book kind of loses the appeal if the story isn’t up to code, even if the writing itself is fantastic. So I generally don’t go out of my way to promote it, no (does this make me a terrible person? I feel like it might).
10. What’s the last book that really surprised you – good or bad?
The Maze Runner Trilogy. I just finished reading it recently and I was kept on my toes the whole time (not sure if that’s the kind of surprised you’re looking for, but it’s what I’m thinking of).

And now–drum roll please–my nominations for the Liebster Award!

 

Hmm, now to come up with 10 questions for you to answer…

  1. If you could be any dinosaur, which would you be?
  2. What has been your most interesting experience with your blog?
  3. Think back to the biggest meal you’ve eaten in your whole life–what did you eat, how did you feel, etc?
  4. Where do you most want to travel to? (Whether it be within this world or the endless possibilities the fictional realm has to offer)
  5. What are your thoughts on Harry Potter?
  6. What would you do if you were reading a really fantastic book, and all the copies of that book mysteriously disappeared and you were never able to finish it?
  7. What is one of your guilty pleasures in life? 
  8. What is your favorite quote?
  9. In what way has an author/book impacted your life?
  10. Why do you want to share your opinions and general posts from your blog with the world?

 

Once again, a heart felt thank you goes out to Stephanie’s Book Reviews for supporting me in my blogging endeavors–THANK YOU! And when you nominees accept your award, remember to comment back to me so I can see your answers to my questions 😉

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for nominating me! I enjoyed reading your answers. I think I’m definitely going to answer your questions because they are such good ones, but not until after I’ve finished the 30 Day Challenge so you may have to wait a while. 😉

    I will make sure to check out these other bloggers!

Leave a comment